lilmakeuptips

Hello world!

Posted on: December 28, 2010

Happy Holidays!

I’ve been considering starting a makeup blog for some time now, and with some prodding from friends (some of whom have their own blogs), I decided to take the plunge!

I’ve been working professionally as a freelance makeup artist in Chicago, Illinois and hold my Illinois State Certification in makeup artistry.  I have always loved makeup and have been experimenting with it since I was a twelve years old (some experiments more successful than others, of course).  I love to work on fashion shows, weddings, head shots, etc. 

My “business name” is Gilded by Lil, which I believe is an illustration of what I love to do most.  I simply bring out (and sometimes add a little glitter to

Promo Shoot for Chicago Red Dress Party, Model Ingrid

Picture from Promo Shoot for Chicago Red Dress Party 2011

!) the natural beauty and spirit of the women (and men) to whom I have the privilege of applying my brush.  To see samples of my work online, go to www.gildedbylil.comOne of my favorite pictures from a shoot I worked on last year for the Chicago Red Dress Party, a benefit in spring 2011 for HIV/AIDS charities, is to the right of this post.

There is a bit of the theatrical in my background, as I have performed on stage and in recital as a singer.  Although I focus my efforts nowadays on choral work, I’ve been known to do some “gilding” on my own face for performances as well as everyday wear.

My hope with this blog is to post my thoughts on products I’ve tried, any other information related to makeup that readers might want to see, and the occasional poorly produced webcam vid with tips and tricks!

I look forward to talking makeup with you!

LIL

2 Responses to "Hello world!"

Hey Lil! This is fantastic! I’m so glad you’ve started a blog – you have SO MUCH knowledge about makeup to share and I know many people will benefit from reading it and following your advice!

And I’m so proud to be posting your first ever comment! 🙂

Keep writing and may the Makeup Goddess be with you!

Thank you so much Emil! I hope to have a New Year’s makeup blog entry posted tomorrow … maybe even a webcam if I can get it done …

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • lilmakeuptips: Thanks for your comment! I got your note on the smoky eye and will do a post on the topic soon!
  • Wicked Red: You look REALLY good in those Lil. Thanks for sharing.
  • lilmakeuptips: Thank you so much Emil! I hope to have a New Year's makeup blog entry posted tomorrow ... maybe even a webcam if I can get it done ...

Categories

